0001628280-25-050187
SEC filingGroupon's Notes reveal a $99.9M debt extinguishment loss, $25.3M Italy tax settlement accrual, and segment contribution margins of 59.4% (NA) and 56.8% (International).
As of September 30, 2025, Groupon's total debt stood at $343.7 million, comprising $264.4 million of 2030 Notes (net), $45.7 million of 2027 Notes, and $33.6 million of 2026 Notes (current). The increase from $246.0 million at year-end 2024 reflects the July 2025 issuance of $244.1 million in 2030 Notes, partially offset by the exchange of $170 million of existing notes. The company recognized a $99.9 million loss on extinguishment of debt. Cash and cash equivalents are not disclosed in the notes, but the balance sheet shows $238.5 million. Goodwill remains unchanged at $178.7 million, all in the North America segment.
The notes state that contractual obligations and commitments did not materially change from the 2024 10-K. However, significant contingencies exist: a $4.6 million Portugal VAT assessment is due in Q4 2025, and a $134.9 million Italy tax dispute (reduced to $25.3 million under an agreement in principle) is partially accrued. The company has recorded $25.3 million in income tax expense for the Italy assessments, with $15.2 million unpaid as of September 30, 2025.
No share buybacks or dividends were disclosed. The primary capital allocation event was the debt exchange: $244.1 million of 2030 Notes issued, extinguishing $20 million of 2026 Notes and $150 million of 2027 Notes. The capped call transactions were partially unwound, generating $2.7 million in cash. No capex figures are provided in the notes.
Groupon operates two segments: North America and International. For the nine months ended September 30, 2025, North America revenue was $287.1 million (+2.8% YoY) with a contribution profit of $170.6 million (59.4% margin). International revenue was $78.6 million (-5.1% YoY) with a contribution profit of $44.7 million (56.8% margin). Revenue breakdown by category: Local dominates both segments (94% in NA, 86% in International), followed by Travel and Goods.
Groupon's operating cash flow (CFO) from continuing operations turned positive to $7.9M for the nine months ended September 30, 2025, compared to -$11.1M in the prior year, a significant improvement of 171%. Net income from continuing operations was -$89.2M, indicating large non-cash charges including stock-based compensation ($27.6M), depreciation ($13.2M), and a loss on debt extinguishment ($99.9M) that drove the divergence. Working capital changes were mixed: accounts receivable decreased by $7.0M (positive), but accrued merchant payables fell by $21.8M (negative), partially offset by a $25.4M Italy tax expense. Capital expenditures of $11.0M ($11.0M capex) were slightly above CFO, implying a negative free cash flow of about -$3.2M if computed (not disclosed). Investing activities provided $4.0M net cash, benefiting from $15.0M in proceeds from business sales. Financing activities used $6.4M, primarily for debt issuance costs and tax withholding on stock compensation. No share repurchases or dividends were reported.